The Poetry Book Awards is an annual, international book award given to the best poetry books produced by indie writers, self published authors or books published by small, truly independent presses.

Even though more and more people are enjoying and participating in creative writing it is becoming increasingly difficult to become traditionally published, especially in the poetry world.  Most of the top book prizes and competitions do not allow self published authors to enter.  If they are allowed then many are extremely expensive leaving self published authors struggling to find the recognition they deserve.

We are proud to be a Welsh-based international awards programme, open to all indie authors and self published poets globally.  Why should you enter the Poetry Book Awards?

1st Prize – £250 plus a one-year subscription to PN Review

2nd Prize – £125

3rd Prize – £60

Winners also get:

  • Great Amazon & Goodreads reviews
  • Earn recognition from having an award-winning book
  • Certificate, logo to use on books and future work
  • Your book cover & link on our website
  • All books donated to local libraries / schools after the awards so you get more publicity
  • Carcanet Press will consider the winners for possible inclusion in PN Review & New Poetries

Your book will be judged by experienced, published poets, respected authors, local writing groups and library staff.  Our aim is to achieve respect and recognition from authors, publishers and publishing organisations for our winning choices.  This will help the winners gain further recognition when they can proudly announce that they are award-winning authors of the Poetry Book Awards and be confident that the title is respected.

Judge – Mike Jenkins

The 2021 contest is now closed.

After many years of finding and promoting outstanding poets through the International Welsh Poetry Competition we now aim to bring further recognition to those writers that have produced a book-length collection of their work and hope to heighten a poet’s profile by offering this new award.

Find out more – FAQs.

Keep up to date, subscribe to our newsletter – click here.